She told me that in the line of powders, only the Chocolate Malt flavor is not gluten free. They are all made on the same line, with a complete wash down between flavors, and that the Chocolate Malt flavor is make last on the line.
I'm curious why they wouldn't change their packaging, or announce on their website that they are gluten free. Why don't you call, ask the questions, and see what answers you get? We might just get to the bottom of this.
Thank you for contacting CARNATION® BREAKFAST ESSENTIALS™, an
excellent breakfast choice with 21 vitamins and minerals.
As a service to our consumers, we chose to disclose all sources of gluten by adding a
statement on the label indicating the existence of barley in
CARNATION BREAKFAST ESSENTIALS. The degree of sensitivity to gluten
varies among individuals, please discuss with your physician if you have concerns.
The flavorings used in CARNATION BREAKFAST ESSENTIALS
Ready to Drink contain barley malt syrup, which contribute less than
1 part per million of barley gluten in the final product.
For CARNATION BREAKFAST ESSENTIALS powder, the only variety
containing gluten is CARNATION BREAKFAST ESSENTIALS
Chocolate Malt, which has wheat flour and barley extracts. All other
CARNATION BREAKFAST ESSENTIALS powder varieties
do not contain gluten. However, we want to inform you that all varieties
are processed on the same equipment as
CARNATION BREAKFAST ESSENTIALS Chocolate Malt.
Gluten sensitivity does vary among individuals, so we advise
you to consult with your physician.
Your interest is appreciated, and we hope you'll visit us at
products and promotions. You can also visit our Where to Buy section
where you can find a store near you, order by phone or purchase
online through our Nestlé Nutrition eStore™.